Florida “No-Fault” Insurance Lawyers Serving Tampa, St Petersburg, Bradenton & Communities Statewide
In the realm of car insurance, Florida is a “no-fault” state. If you are hurt in an auto accident, your medical expenses and lost wages will covered by your own insurance company – even if the accident was entirely not your fault. Florida is also one of just a handful of states in the country where it is mandatory for drivers to purchase car insurance. To get a driver’s license, you must first obtain a minimum of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. Florida PIP laws dictate that your own insurance company must reimburse 80% of your medical bills and 60% of your lost wages, assuming that certain conditions are met.
The Florida no-fault system isn’t without its problems, however. Insurance companies often deny perfectly valid claims and make it hard, if not impossible, for victims of auto accidents to the get compensation that they truly need. Changes to the law that go into effect on January 1, 2013 create even more obstacles, including a requirement that people seek medical treatment within just 14 days of an auto accident, and lower coverage levels for those who are injured but do not have an “emergency medical condition.”
At Reeder & Nussbaum, P.A., we serve individuals who have been denied coverage and find themselves in need of professional assistance. A Tampa PIP lawyer at our firm can help you in your quest for compensation.
Contact a PIP lawyer at Reeder & Nussbaum, P.A. today for a consultation. Communities that we serve include Tampa, St Petersburg, Bradenton, and Sarasota. Our phones lines are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and we also have Spanish-speaking professionals on our staff.